Get Our Email Newsletter

Ten IOBSE Student Members Receive LPQ Scholarships to Support Career Advancement

The International Organization of Black Security Executives (IOBSE), in partnership with The Loss Prevention Foundation, awarded ten students from historically black colleges and universities scholarships to support their career advancement and personal development.

This initiative is part of both organization’s ongoing focus and commitment to invest in the professional growth of minority, college students as they transition from academia to the workforce.

“It was truly an honor for me to award these amazing students with such a widely-recognized certification within the loss prevention industry,” said Fanchon Barnes, IOBSE’s 2nd Vice President and LPF’s Diversity Committee member. It’s our way of providing these emerging leaders a jumpstart into their professional security careers.”

- Digital Partner -

Scott Glenn, Chief Security Officer at Sears Holdings Corporation added; “I recently had the opportunity to spend some time with these incredible students at the IOBSE conference in Florida. They are all truly deserving and represented themselves and their schools with distinction. As Chair of the Diversity Committee for the LPF, I cannot think of a better way to reward this group for their accomplishments”.

“LPF has been supporting the IOBSE for many years by offering student scholarships who demonstrate tremendous potential and an interest in our profession. The IOBSE does and exceptional job of identifying top talent and LPF wants to encourage these students to pursue careers in retail “, stated Gene Smith, LPC and president of LPF.

Congratulations to the following recipients of the LPQualified (LPQ) Scholarships (in order from left to right):

• Dorian Heard – Georgia Piedmont Technical College
• Princess-Ayshiya Gonzalez – Georgia Piedmont Technical College
• Sayqwan Stabler – North Carolina Central University
• Donte’ Thrasher – Clark-Atlanta University
• Kanecea Moore – Florida A&M University
• Destiny Sanders – Florida A&M University
• Michael Thomas, Jr. – Florida A&M University
• James Jones – Morehouse University
• Kimberly Lane – Georgia Piedmont University
• Brandon Oatts – Georgia Piedmont University

IOBSE Scholarship Recipients

Loss Prevention Magazine updates delivered to your inbox

Get the free daily newsletter read by thousands of loss prevention professionals, security, and retail management from the store level to the c-suite.

What's New

Digital Partners

Become a Digital Partner

Violence in the Workplace

Download this 34-page special report from Loss Prevention Magazine about types and frequency of violent incidents, impacts on employees and customers, effectiveness of tools and training, and much more.


View All | Sponsor a Webinar


View All | Submit a Whitepaper

LP Solutions

View All | Submit Your Content

Loss Prevention Media Logo

Stay up-to-date with our free email newsletter

The trusted newsletter for loss prevention professionals, security and retail management. Get the latest news, best practices, technology updates, management tips, career opportunities and more.

No, thank you.

View our privacy policy.