Get Our Email Newsletter

Gaining the Edge at Best Buy’s Annual AP Meeting

The annual Best Buy Asset Protection team meeting was held this year in San Antonio, Texas. The team had a very productive week establishing goals and expectations for FY17 centered around the theme “Together We Gain the Edge.” The week consisted of trainings on new technologies specifically designed to help support the investigative and safety capabilities within the enterprise. Leadership forums were also hosted by market AP senior managers and were concentrated around business rhythms, market leadership, influencing without authority, and inventory control functions. Other key presenters included members of the employee relations team. Presentations at the meeting provided the team with key initiatives being developed to support the AP team in the future.

“The spirit of the meeting was ‘Together We Gain the Edge,’ and it was the first time we brought all the asset protection team members to one place to align goals and ensure understanding of all the different roles within our AP/safety teams,” said Erik Buttlar, senior director of AP. “Walking away, I was most happy about how the team embraced that theme and the ways in which we are working toward our goals this year.”

The Best Buy team is led by Buttlar and consists of Tom Rewolinski, corporate director; Lisa Brock, director of investigations/services; Avni Elezi, field AP director; Kevin Camper, field AP director; Jim Behrend, field AP Director; Bill Wright, field AP director; Vinny Lagana, field AP director; and Tim Flowers, field AP director, as well as the market asset protection senior managers the supply chain AP team, the Best Buy mobile AP team, the field service AP team (Geek Squad), the specialty brand AP team, and the Best Buy safety team.

- Digital Partner -
Best Buy 2016 AP Meeting Full Size
(pictured at awards ceremony; Erik Buttlar, Avni Elezi, Kevin Camper, Jim Behrend, Bill Wright, Vinny Lagana, Tim Flowers, Brandon VanTassell, Wayne Getz, Melissa Shadiow, Ernie Colacion, Larry Doebler, Bridgette Adams, Gerald O’Hagan, Jon Berg, Allen Tomaszek, Wade Trapp, Jeremy Abate, Terry Dilts, Clay Deese, Chad Aubuchon, Ty Thoman, Mike Zambrano, Ron Vranesevich, Jim Noren, Ishaq Ayoub, Dale Patterson, Christine Raposo, Tim Dunn, Brian Farrell, Ray Lastner, Joe Cavanagh, David Ross, Don Hicks, Elroid Lights, Raven Austin, Todd Lawrence, Winford Figaro, Stephen Hughes, Joey Reyes, Dave Buckley, Cory Evraets, Vickie Michalski, Joe Holmes, Jeremy Elliot, Paula Wilson, Sue Steinman, Justin D’Aigle, Ann Dorrance, Missy Betrand, Vanessa Anderson, Dawn Jordan, Matt Towers, Whitney Wheatley, Justin Morrison, John Soto, Lisa Brock, Tom Rewolinski, Mike Jackson, Sam Lineberger, Andrew Charles, Bryan Fruth, Michael Horton, Mark Thomas, Susan Pederson, Joe Pittman, Steve Marsh, Chad Tellinghuisen, Jaime Ost, Kelly Erickson)


Loss Prevention Magazine updates delivered to your inbox

Get the free daily newsletter read by thousands of loss prevention professionals, security, and retail management from the store level to the c-suite.

What's New

Digital Partners

Become a Digital Partner

Violence in the Workplace

Download this 34-page special report from Loss Prevention Magazine about types and frequency of violent incidents, impacts on employees and customers, effectiveness of tools and training, and much more.


View All | Sponsor a Webinar


View All | Submit a Whitepaper

LP Solutions

View All | Submit Your Content

Loss Prevention Media Logo

Stay up-to-date with our free email newsletter

The trusted newsletter for loss prevention professionals, security and retail management. Get the latest news, best practices, technology updates, management tips, career opportunities and more.

No, thank you.

View our privacy policy.